WWE Superstar of the Year Tournament – 2009

DECEMBER 14, 2009

– Opening Round

– John Cena defeated CM Punk via submission with the STFU at 1:41; prior to the bout, Punk cut an in-ring acceptance speech on winning Shocker of the Year, ran down his accomplishments in 2009, and said he was the only one with the courage to tell the fans what they needed to hear; following the match, Cena cut an in-ring promo in which he apologized to any fans that he let down the previous night but he would not stop until he regained the title; Cena then said his road to WrestleMania was already underway and he would not lose a match until he wins the title back – Randy Orton defeated World Heavyweight Champion the Undertaker via count-out in a non-title match at 3:40 after dropping Taker with the RKO after Taker became distracted by Ted Dibiase Jr. & Cody Rhodes at ringside; after the contest, Taker knocked Dibiase & Rhodes to the floor and dropped Orton with a chokeslam

– Finals

– John Cena pinned Randy Orton at 9:01 with the FU after avoiding the kick to the head; after the match, WWE World Champion Sheamus appeared at the entrance stage and held up the title belt as Cena looked on, daring Sheamus to enter the ring as the show came to a close